Argonne receives 2011 Illinois Governor’s Sustainability Award

From left to right: Gary Miller, associate executive director of the Prairie Research Institute at University of Illinois; Greg Jonas, associate division director for infrastructure, Facilities Management & Services, Argonne; Manohar Kulkami, director, Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC), Prairie Research Institute at University of Illinois; Gregg Kulma, environmental engineer, Argonne.

Argonne and 24 Illinois companies and organizations were honored for their significant achievements in protecting the environment, helping sustain the future and improving the economy. The Governor’s Sustainability Awards were presented by the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) during a luncheon in Champaign.

Since 1987, ISTC has presented Governors Awards to organizations in Illinois that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental excellence through outstanding and innovative sustainability practices. Both public and private Illinois organizations are eligible for an award. Organizations winning for the first time received the Sustainability Award. Organizations like Argonne that have won in past years and are continuing their environmental efforts, are awarded a Continuous Improvement Award.

“These businesses and organizations have shown that it is possible to create and maintain conditions under which people and the environment can exist in productive harmony, and fulfill the social and economic requirements of present and future generations,” said ISTC Director Manohar Kulkarni.

Information on the Governor’s Sustainability Awards program, lists of previous winners, and information on technical assistance are available at the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center website.

Posted November 11, 2011