Secretary’s Honor Awards: Recognizing Employee Excellence

Since 1977, Energy Department employees have worked to deliver the innovation and expertise needed to advance the nation’s science and technology sectors, boost advancements in clean energy and ensure national security through nuclear nonproliferation initiatives and environmental cleanup. On October 4, Department employees and officials gathered for the annual Secretary’s Honor Awards ceremony to applaud their colleagues’ achievements and commemorate 35 years of this important endeavor.

Secretary of Energy Steven Chu presented awards to more than 240 individuals for their contributions, including Argonne National Laboratory’s Nuclear Footprint Reduction Team, recognized for the completion of the Nuclear Footprint Reduction and Deactivation Plan that resulted in significant risk reduction, enhanced compliance and operational cost savings. Read more.

Posted October 8, 2012