Argonne’s Women in Science and Technology (WIST) program is sponsored and funded by the Argonne Laboratory Director.

WIST is governed by the WIST Program Initiator (WPI) and the WIST Steering Committee.

WIST Program Initiator

The WIST Program Initiator coordinates the program. This two-year position is filled by a staff member who devotes 25% of her time to the program and, in that capacity, reports directly to the Laboratory Director.

Steering Committee

The administration of the program is supervised by the WIST Steering Committee.  Members are selected from among the scientific and technical staff to serve for two years, at which time the alternates are appointed to the Steering Committee, and new alternates are selected.


WIST has several committees, each focusing on specific aspects of the WIST mission and scope. These include:

  • Communications Committee
  • Connections Committee
  • Operational Management Committee
  • Outreach Committee
  • Professional Development Committee

Last Updated: April 18, 2024